Police Pension Board


The Batavia Police Pension Board consists of 2 elected active-members, 1 retired/disabled member and 2 members appointed by the Mayor all of whom voluntarily serve. Appointed members serve for a 2-year term. The purpose of the Pension Board is to govern the investments of the 40 full-time officers of the Batavia Police Department. The Board is also responsible for governing and administering the benefits for retired and disabled officers of the City of Batavia. The Board currently oversees a pension portfolio of over $25 million. The Board shall have such other powers and duties as are given by the statutes of Illinois or by ordinance.

Regular Meetings

Regular meetings are held on a quarterly basis and are open to the public. Meetings are held on Wednesdays during the months of February, May, August and November. All meetings are held at 8:00 a.m. in the Batavia Police Department 2nd Floor Conference Room located at the Batavia Government Center, 100 North Island Avenue, Batavia, Illinois.

Meetings for 2022 are scheduled for:

  • Feb. 9
  • May 11
  • Aug. 10
  • Nov. 9


  • Jason Kaluzny, President Membership status: Active Member
  • Chris Potthoff, Secretary Membership status: Active member
  • Tim O'Brien, Vice President Membership status: Retired/Disabled Member
  • Robert Knanishu, Trustee Membership status: Appointed Member
  • Laura Newman, Trustee Membership status: Appointed Member