Environmental Commission

Meeting Schedule

Regular Meetings

  • 7 p.m. City Hall - Aldermen's Room
  • The 2nd Wednesday of every month


The Commission was officially formed in November, 2006 and is comprised of 7 appointed Batavia residents and 2 City staff members:

  • Andrew Greenhagen, Chair
  • Carolyn Burnham
  • Anna Bakker
  • Emma Cole
  • Abby Beck
  • Vacant
  • Vacant
  • John Kennedy, City Staff
  • Andrea Podraza, City Staff


The mission of the Batavia Environmental Commission is to fulfill the role of environmental advisor, educator and motivator to City Government and the community at large. Specifically, the Commission shall act as a resource and advocate to:

  • City Government in developing internal policies and practices in an environmentally sensitive manner.
  • City Government as it approves and evaluates policies for standards for construction, waste disposal, business and industrial operations and other private sector activities consistent with the purpose of the Commission.
  • The community at large to help develop educational and informational programs to promote environmental awareness and behavior.
  • It is the work of the Environmental Commission to aide in fulfilling the city's overall vision of claiming environmental stewardship as a cornerstone to our community's way of life.
  • Ultimately, the Commission shall strive to establish a path that places Batavia as a regional leader in the protection, preservation, enhancement and restoration of our natural biodiversity and landscape.